0
research-article

Advanced Characterization Techniques and Analysis of Thermal Properties of AlGaN/GaN Multifinger Power HEMTs on SiC Substrate Supported by 3-D Simulation OPEN ACCESS

[+] Author and Article Information
Ales Chvala

Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Ilkovičova 3, 812 19 Bratislava, Slovak Republic
ales.chvala@stuba.sk

Robert Szobolovszky

Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Ilkovičova 3, 812 19 Bratislava, Slovak Republic
robert.szobolovszky@stuba.sk

Jaroslav jr Kovac

Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Ilkovičova 3, 812 19 Bratislava, Slovak Republic
jaroslav_kovac@stuba.sk

Martin Florovic

Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Ilkovičova 3, 812 19 Bratislava, Slovak Republic
martin.florovic@stuba.sk

Juraj Marek

Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Ilkovičova 3, 812 19 Bratislava, Slovak Republic
juraj.marek@gmail.com

Lubos Cernaj

Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Ilkovičova 3, 812 19 Bratislava, Slovak Republic
lubos.cernaj@stuba.sk

Professor Daniel Donoval

Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Ilkovičova 3, 812 19 Bratislava, Slovak Republic
daniel.donoval@stuba.sk

Jaroslav Kovac

Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Ilkovičova 3, 812 19 Bratislava, Slovak Republic
jaroslav.kovac@stuba.sk

Christian Dua

III-V Lab 1 Avenue Augustin Fresnel, 91767 Palaiseau, France
christian.dua@3-5lab.fr

Sylvain L. Delage

III-V Lab 1 Avenue Augustin Fresnel, 91767 Palaiseau, France
sylvain.delage@3-5lab.fr

Jean-Claude Jacquet

III-V Lab 1 Avenue Augustin Fresnel, 91767 Palaiseau, France
jean-claude.jacquet@3-5lab.fr

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4043477 History: Received October 26, 2018; Revised March 01, 2019

Abstract

In this paper, several methods suitable for real time on-chip temperature measurements of power AlGaN/GaN based high-electron mobility transistor (HEMT) grown on a SiC substrate are presented. The measurement of temperature distribution on HEMT surface using Raman spectroscopy is presented. The second approach utilizes electrical I-V characteristics of the Schottky diode neighboring to the heat source of the active transistor under different dissipated power for temperature measurement. These methods are further verified by measurements with micro thermistors. The features and limitations of the proposed methods are discussed. The thermal parameters of materials used in the device are extracted from the temperature distribution in the structure with the support of 3-D thermal simulation of the device. Thermal analysis of the multifinger power HEMT is performed. The effects of the structure design and fabrication processes from semiconductor layers, metallization, and packaging up to cooling solutions are investigated. The influence of individual layer properties on the thermal performance of different HEMT structures under different operating conditions is presented. The results show that the proposed experimental methods supported by simulation have a potential for the design, analysis and thermal management of HEMT.

Copyright (c) 2019 by ASME; reuse license CC-BY 4.0
View article in PDF format.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In